Printing waterslide Decals

Post any work that you need doing - printing, cutting, engraving, 3D prototyping, milling etc.
Wogelin

Printing waterslide Decals

Post by Wogelin » Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:35 am

Hello,

I have just registered here at the forum. My name ist Wolfgang and I am living in London. Being a scale model builder I just learned about the fantastic possibilities that some of the Roland printers offer. Printing white in solvent based inks is a fantastic feature if it comes to printing waterslide decals. I have used ALPS printers before but was not too happy how they performed, black on white in small scales as well as ochre and orange colours where of no good standard at all.
Some (actually most) of the decals I am interested in are really small 2.1 x 3 mm for example. I went on to used a professional silkscreen printing service who are capable of doing a great job but you have to order real volumes and prices are really high.
Summing up I wonder if anybody is interested to - basically - do printjobs for waterslide decals containing white. Decals will be drawn up as vectorfiles a hint what format is needed would be welcome. Can any of the printers (Roland VS 640?) print the carrier film for a waterslide as well or does one have to use a clear waterslide decal sheet instead. In silkprinting the first layer is the carrierfilm which is printed a little larger than the actual decal. That has the advantage that there is no need for cutting around the decal when it is due to be applied. Furthermore I would like to print some flags (ca. 40mm x 55mm) on a matt carrier foil
in order to be cut out and sandwiched around a piece of rod as a flag pole - any suggestion what material to use???

I hope I made sense, as you might have guessed I am not a native speaker.
Any answers, help and recommandations are highly welcome
best regards
Wolfgang

revolution-digital
Location: The Factory, North Avenue, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 3QX

Re: Printing waterslide Decals