Imaging with a Roland

General discussion on ideas and applications. Things you've done, things you're considering, things you find tricky
Post Reply
Dragprints
Bronze Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 7:08 am

Imaging with a Roland

Post by Dragprints » Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:56 am

I have a job where I need to scan photos and old memorabilia for a customer, they are also wanting a printed copy of about 1/3 of the digital images. I have tried a couple scans, there is an issue with the color reproduction is with colors, I have looked at the spot color option available in VW and also pantone but the the images are photos (of people and landscapes) so this does not work effectively.

What I am looking for is a scanner that is calibrated for a Roland machine (ie LEC/LEJ).

User avatar
Joe Wigzell
Gold Member
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 9:07 am
Location: Clevedon, North Somerset
Contact:

Re: Imaging with a Roland

Post by Joe Wigzell » Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:26 pm

Try printing one of the images with different colour management settings to see the changes they make.
Joe Wigzell
Academy and Creative Centre Manager
Roland DG UK Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

Dragprints
Bronze Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 7:08 am

Re: Imaging with a Roland

Post by Dragprints » Mon Mar 07, 2016 7:47 am

I have tried different color management settings, used different scan setting. I can get individual prints or a couple at a time to print nicely (about 80% the same) but these over 1000 photos that I need to print and the process I am using is not feasible. I have tested various multi-center (scanner and printer attached) and they print great just the quality is not very good due to these being cheap machines, this does tell me its simple a match of scanner and printer.

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2205
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: Imaging with a Roland

Post by Kai Perry » Fri Mar 11, 2016 6:41 pm

You could use the variable data feature in VersaWorks to help you output the files once you have settled on a setting for the output, have you tried a large format scanner for getting better resolution?
Kai Perry
RolandCare Advisor
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

Dragprints
Bronze Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 7:08 am

Re: Imaging with a Roland

Post by Dragprints » Sat Mar 12, 2016 3:37 am

I have not tried a large format scanner, I will need to purchase which I would like to do. I just dont want to run into the same issue after purchase. Do you have recommended large format scanners that will work well with a LEJ-640.

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2205
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: Imaging with a Roland

Post by Kai Perry » Sun Mar 13, 2016 11:46 am

Yor best bet is to speak to the dealer you purchased the printer from, they should be able to advise you on a suitable solution.
Kai Perry
RolandCare Advisor
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

User avatar
Joe Wigzell
Gold Member
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 9:07 am
Location: Clevedon, North Somerset
Contact:

Re: Imaging with a Roland

Post by Joe Wigzell » Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:25 am

I don't think that it is likely to be down to the scanner as such, more the colour settings. Have you tried playing around with the import settings on the scanner? Scanners are not 'calibrated to a printer' as such, also if across hundreds of images you have a broad spread of colour range they may well need different colour management settings. If you want to understand more about colour management you could give this book a try:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Real-World-Colo ... 0321267222
Joe Wigzell
Academy and Creative Centre Manager
Roland DG UK Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest