XJ-740 Connection loss.

Warranties, repairs and maintenance
User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2124
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: XJ-740 Connection loss.

Post by Kai Perry » Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:51 pm

If you speak to your Roland engineer they should be able to send you the firmware.
Kai Perry
RolandCare Advisor
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

User avatar
mrtn
Gold Member
Posts: 2234
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:37 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: XJ-740 Connection loss.

Post by mrtn » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:11 pm

DPStudio wrote:New info...
After many installs I got into Service mode and did all kind of checks
and on Ink ic check i got error on slot 1
What does this mean ? is there something wrong with a certain cassette ?
Yes, I have seen it before with non-OEM chips supplied with some Asian CISS system.
Roland Dealer since 1993
facebook
instagram

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2124
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: XJ-740 Connection loss.

Post by Kai Perry » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:13 pm

The IC error relates to the chip on the cartridge, try swapping it for another one.
Kai Perry
RolandCare Advisor
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

DPStudio
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 4:21 pm

Re: XJ-740 Connection loss.

Post by DPStudio » Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:59 pm

i cleaned the cartridge slot with compressed air and after a few tries i passed the ic check.
Is there a way i can download the Ethernet firmware ?

User avatar
mrtn
Gold Member
Posts: 2234
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:37 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: XJ-740 Connection loss.

Post by mrtn » Tue Dec 18, 2012 2:12 pm

DPStudio wrote:i cleaned the cartridge slot with compressed air and after a few tries i passed the ic check.
Is there a way i can download the Ethernet firmware ?
As Kai said, you should contact your local Roland support engineer for the Ethernet interface fw replacement. There is no update for the model you have so it would only be rewritten.
Roland Dealer since 1993
facebook
instagram

DPStudio
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 4:21 pm

Re: XJ-740 Connection loss.

Post by DPStudio » Sat Jan 12, 2013 5:46 pm

Hi.

I contacted to Roland Greece and the technician said i had problem with the ic board.
i replaced the ic board , payed 260€ and again the problem persists. After they said it is the ink cassettes
and i should buy original ones (They technician said that perhaps on a past problem when he removed the main board and installed again the firmware
the main board lost the codes for the oem cassettes!) My opinion is that it is the worst reason i could hear from a certified technician.
1st. I had the problem before he tried to fix it by replacing the main board, which didn't work and re installed my original one.
2nd. I was sure they wouldn't take back the ic board and refund me with the excuse it was not installed by a certified technician.
(Sorry my friends that's why i ask questions here and look for solutions, I have no faith in the Greek technicians who are 20-24 years old and change every 6 months)

Now they say it is the cassette slot ic chip and that i have to buy the complete slot since the ic chip cannot be sold single.
My thought is another 190€ will go to the drain.

Is there someone who can give me a solution?

User avatar
mrtn
Gold Member
Posts: 2234
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:37 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: XJ-740 Connection loss.

Post by mrtn » Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:04 am

There are no chips in the cartridge bay, just the needle, switches for cartridge insertion and empty trigger and contacts for the cartridge chip which is connected to a junction board. Find a matching empty OEM cartridge with a chip, tape the and insert to the first bay and try using the machine. I have not heard of the chip being responsible for disconnect but in the world of complicated electronics you mustn't rule out anything.
Roland Dealer since 1993
facebook
instagram

Akar
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: XJ-740 Connection loss.

Post by Akar » Sat May 06, 2017 11:14 am

Hi, I also facing with this problem. So how did you solve this problem ? Pls.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest