Best Material MPX 90

Post questions, share ideas and techniques relating to engraving and impact imaging
rkman

Best Material MPX 90

Post by rkman » Sun Jul 12, 2015 2:22 pm

I have been fighting with my MPX 90 for almost seven months now, and still haven't got a product I would feel good about selling. I just replaced the head thinking there was a problem there, but it didn't change a thing. I am getting ready to send the machine to Roland to get them to check it out. I just wanted to ask everyone what they think is the best material for photo engraving. I have been told polished stainless, but I wanted to see what everyone else had good luck with.

Thank you in advance Richard

kanarinac

Re: Best Material MPX 90

Post by kanarinac » Mon Jul 13, 2015 9:42 am

Hey Richard

What is exactly the problem that you have? Make on photo and post it.

Regards

Andrew Dudley
Gold Member

Post by Andrew Dudley » Fri Jul 17, 2015 10:45 am

Polished surfaces work best. But what issues are you getting?
Are you trying Photo's or text?
Andrew Dudley
Business Manager - 3D & Dental
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
Web: www.rolanddg.co.uk

rkman

Post by rkman » Sun Jul 19, 2015 3:23 pm

The problem is my photos are so light, that they can barely be seen except at certain angles. The detail is perfect but it just appears that the density is very low. I am now waiting for some new stainless blanks from another supplier. I have purchased from Metaza.com and Pendabryte Metals who are supposed to specialize in Metaza material, but I cannot get a good result. Roland tech support sent me a test file and using their settings the result was still poor. They assumed I had a bad head and sent me a replacement head and the results were no better. When the new material arrives I will call them and have them walk me through from start to finish. If this doesn't work I don't know what options we have.

CuttingEtch

Post by CuttingEtch » Mon Jul 20, 2015 12:20 pm