RotoCAMM TS-400E

Post questions, share ideas and techniques relating to 3D prototyping and milling
Joules
Bronze Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:40 pm
Location: Yorkshire

Re: RotoCAMM TS-400E

Post by Joules » Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:44 pm

Paul,
Keep us posted on what you find, and take pictures of the guts be nice to see what you are up against. Are the servo motors geared ? Check the slides and bearings for any signs of corrosion or debri, that could also increase the loading on the motors (long shot, but if your inside the machine worth checking it's clean and tidy)

Joules

paolo8453
Bronze Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:27 am

Re: RotoCAMM TS-400E

Post by paolo8453 » Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:26 pm

Just finished designing a camera mount that I've been wanting to do for ages. Went to cut it out - powered on the machine - it powered off again. Ditto, ditto...

It looks like the intemittent fault is here to stay this time. Should make it easier to diagnose at least.

Always look on the bright side :D


I'll get into it on Sunday and post some pics - fingers crossed it's something simple.
Hardware: TS-400 which seems to be the same as an EGX-400/600...

paolo8453
Bronze Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:27 am

Re: RotoCAMM TS-400E

Post by paolo8453 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:28 pm

oh, oh...

SERVICE CALL 66

Never even thought of checking Vpanel for an error message - I wonder if it has a log...

I've only seen this error message once and it doesn't seem to be related to the switching off problem
Hardware: TS-400 which seems to be the same as an EGX-400/600...

paolo8453
Bronze Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:27 am

Re: RotoCAMM TS-400E

Post by paolo8453 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 9:26 pm

and some images -

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Hardware: TS-400 which seems to be the same as an EGX-400/600...

Joules
Bronze Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:40 pm
Location: Yorkshire

Re: RotoCAMM TS-400E

Post by Joules » Sun Apr 01, 2012 10:14 pm

Thanks Paul,
Some nice shots of the internals. I guess I was surprised to see the machine used toothed belts for gantry drive. It looks very clean and tidy and no signs of corrosion. The circuit boards look pretty busy with surface mount VLSI chips. About the only good thing I can think to add is, you seem to have plenty of room if you do end up refitting for stepper drives.

Surely that error needs another 6. :evil:

I think it was mentioned earlier the machine was based on the EGX-400/600... Just do a search online and you may find technical resources for that machine.

paolo8453
Bronze Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:27 am

Re: RotoCAMM TS-400E

Post by paolo8453 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 10:27 pm

Joules wrote:Surely that error needs another 6. :evil:.
:D you could be right, Joules! It's certainly tormenting me now. Especially now that I'm just getting my head around how to use it.

Totally random shut downs - the worst kind of problem!

Honestly - it will complete a job and minutes later will just shut down when trying the same job again.

The boards and connections all look good. I was surprised just how clean it is inside - but if it's only got 140 hours on it...


Absolutely no idea where to go next with this...
Hardware: TS-400 which seems to be the same as an EGX-400/600...

Joules
Bronze Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:40 pm
Location: Yorkshire

Re: RotoCAMM TS-400E

Post by Joules » Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:05 pm

Paul,
What test equipment do you have and how competent with electronics ?

I just found a user manual for the EGX 400/600 and it only has errors upto 20... Nothing on the net so far for a "service call 66" error. Maybe a nice Roland man can give us a clue !!!

Any local amateur radio types, or ex TV repair men they can be pretty good on analogue circuits, or maybe know a man local who is..... Assuming it is a power supply fault still.

Your a bit far for me to race up on the trike with equipment and camping gear :lol:

Any of those heat sinks warm or hot after a shutdown ? Watch your fingers round the power supply as those big capacitors could still hold a shocking charge.
Last edited by Joules on Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

paolo8453
Bronze Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:27 am

Re: RotoCAMM TS-400E

Post by paolo8453 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:18 pm

I'll give Roland a call tomorrow. They seem very helpful so fingers crossed they might have some ideas.

Test equipment - a cheapo multimeter :( I wouldn't know where to begin to be honest. I wonder if there's a thermal fuse or something else that trips then resets?

It's a total power cut off when it happens - there's a few LEDs on the PCBs and they all go out. It's now staying powered off for anything up to 5 mins once it 'trips'.

I've checked all the obvious connections, poked, prodded and gave a it a tap with a rubber hammer in a few places just to see if I can get it to trip - nothing.

I'll let you know how I get on.


Cheers


p.s I was thinking TV repair man too. Think there is a local guy - worth a shot.
Hardware: TS-400 which seems to be the same as an EGX-400/600...

paolo8453
Bronze Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:27 am

Re: RotoCAMM TS-400E

Post by paolo8453 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 8:23 pm

Nothing new to report. Roland guy is going to ask around but he's wasn't aware of any obvious problems. Thinking about it - should have asked him to email me the circuit diagram :roll:
Hardware: TS-400 which seems to be the same as an EGX-400/600...

paolo8453
Bronze Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:27 am

Re: RotoCAMM TS-400E

Post by paolo8453 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 9:22 pm

Noticed something tonight - I switched the machine off and on a few times and did it's 'shut down' thing.

The weird thing is this - even in it's 'shutdown' state (no lights, fan etc), when I switch off at the front switch, the fan comes on after a a few seconds for about 1 second...

When it's in it's 'shutdown' state there's a slight buzz off the big transfomer - there's 37 volts coming out of it and that's making it all the way to the main boards.
Hardware: TS-400 which seems to be the same as an EGX-400/600...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest