Hi All, New to Roland BN-20

Come in and introduce yourself
Post Reply
JOHNNYRAD
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:58 pm

Hi All, New to Roland BN-20

Post by JOHNNYRAD » Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:12 pm

Hi, I Run a small sticker business from home in Devon, up until now i have just used Graphtecs for cutting Decals. I have just got Roland BN20 from a friend. He didnt use it enough to justify it. I have encountered an issue with a logo I am trying to print. It looks like it is missing the top layer of colour on the point closest to the edge of the sheet. I have tried turning this 90 degrees and the issue is always at this point nearest to the end of the sheet. I have only printed 3 other images so far but they came out without this issue. Any thoughts appreciated. I am using inkscape and signlab to prepare the images for versaworks. I have also tried 2 versions of this logo. Image attached, Thanks for taking the time to Read-John
Attachments
20170421_225249.jpg

User avatar
mrtn
Gold Member
Posts: 2294
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:37 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: Hi All, New to Roland BN-20

Post by mrtn » Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:22 pm

This is very likely a sofware glitch. Never seen anything like that happening before.

Do you use EPS files or do you Print directly from tha application?
Roland Dealer since 1993
facebook
instagram

JOHNNYRAD
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:58 pm

Re: Hi All, New to Roland BN-20

Post by JOHNNYRAD » Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:40 pm

Hi, I start with a .png then I use signlab to add a cut line , then export an .eps, Then open the eps in Versaworks etc. It is the method my friend used which worked on the other few things have tried.

User avatar
mrtn
Gold Member
Posts: 2294
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:37 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: Hi All, New to Roland BN-20

Post by mrtn » Sat Apr 22, 2017 9:15 am

Make sure to add "EPS margin" in VersaWorks default queue settings.
Roland Dealer since 1993
facebook
instagram

JOHNNYRAD
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:58 pm

Re: Hi All, New to Roland BN-20

Post by JOHNNYRAD » Sat Apr 22, 2017 9:52 am

thank you, i have just taken a look in the software. I need to add a value, just watched video and they use 0.75mm is that about correct?- What does that do?

User avatar
mrtn
Gold Member
Posts: 2294
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:37 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: Hi All, New to Roland BN-20

Post by mrtn » Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:50 pm

Adds blank space around the image to prevent something to be left out in rendering.
Roland Dealer since 1993
facebook
instagram

JOHNNYRAD
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:58 pm

Re: Hi All, New to Roland BN-20

Post by JOHNNYRAD » Sat Apr 22, 2017 2:48 pm

Just tried it and worked perfectly. Thank you for your help :D

User avatar
mrtn
Gold Member
Posts: 2294
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:37 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: Hi All, New to Roland BN-20

Post by mrtn » Sat Apr 22, 2017 4:36 pm

My pleasure.
Roland Dealer since 1993
facebook
instagram

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest