Not printing after initialised versaworks?

Post Reply
itfben
Bronze Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:34 am
Contact:

Not printing after initialised versaworks?

Post by itfben » Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:13 pm

I initialised versaworks as vw wouldn't open. I've connected to the vp540, says "ready to print" (albeit magenta is low) but when I add a job to queue it will rip
Then go into print status (0%) then after a couple
Minutes disappear from print status que as if it had printed? Printer with print nozzle test on the printer but it won't print anything from my compute. Even tried versaworks test print and test cut files????

User avatar
revolution-digital
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:30 am
Location: The Factory, North Avenue, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 3QX
Contact:

Re: Not printing after initialised versaworks?

Post by revolution-digital » Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:36 pm

Why did you need to initialise the software? Was there a problem you were trying to sort.

The obvious ones are reboot PC (what is the spec) Try turning off Firewalls and Virus checkers.

Update to the latest version of VersaWorks or remove completely and reinstall. Before setting up your printer from the new install get the IP address written down, VersaWorks will ask you for the connection info on the startup splash screen.

Do you have another PC to install VersaWorks on? Helps eliminate the problems.

Regards

Jan
Kind Regards

Jan

revolution-digital.co.uk
01530 510080

proud to be a Roland reseller

User avatar
mrtn
Gold Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:37 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: Not printing after initialised versaworks?

Post by mrtn » Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:43 pm

Turn off the printer's main switch and restart after 10 seconds.

Print.
Roland Dealer since 1993
facebook
instagram

itfben
Bronze Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: Not printing after initialised versaworks?

Post by itfben » Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:32 am

revolution-digital wrote:
Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:36 pm
Why did you need to initialise the software? Was there a problem you were trying to sort.

The obvious ones are reboot PC (what is the spec) Try turning off Firewalls and Virus checkers.

Update to the latest version of VersaWorks or remove completely and reinstall. Before setting up your printer from the new install get the IP address written down, VersaWorks will ask you for the connection info on the startup splash screen.

Do you have another PC to install VersaWorks on? Helps eliminate the problems.

Regards

Jan
Running windows 10 on Parrelells on my MacBook Pro 💻.

Used to work fine.

I initialised is because it was giving me a dongle/print settings error when I tried to open VW and topics on that problem suggested fresh install, I couldn't find the install disc so I click initialise and it allowed VW to open :)

itfben
Bronze Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: Not printing after initialised versaworks?

Post by itfben » Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:34 am

mrtn wrote:
Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:43 pm
Turn off the printer's main switch and restart after 10 seconds.

Print.
I tried that yesterday. Shut everything down and restarted no luck :(

itfben
Bronze Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: Not printing after initialised versaworks?

Post by itfben » Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:03 pm

Found "job log" and it's showing there's a printer error when trying to print but says unknown

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2123
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: Not printing after initialised versaworks?

Post by Kai Perry » Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:40 pm

Have you got a PC that you can test the connection with?
Kai Perry
RolandCare Advisor
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

itfben
Bronze Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: Not printing after initialised versaworks?

Post by itfben » Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:23 am

Afraid not.

itfben
Bronze Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: Not printing after initialised versaworks?

Post by itfben » Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:24 am

I'm not even getting the processing now message on the printer. But the versaworks is able to read ink levels etc

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2123
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: Not printing after initialised versaworks?

Post by Kai Perry » Thu Apr 20, 2017 12:49 pm

It sounds like an IP conflict, maybe with the Mac, try changing to a different range - if 192.168 change to 169.254
Kai Perry
RolandCare Advisor
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests