Windows 8 Support

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2113
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Windows 8 Support

Post by Kai Perry » Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:14 am

The support plan for Windows 8 has now been released, if you are planning to upgrade or to buy a new Windows 8 PC, then please look at the support page before you do so.

Windows 8 Support Plan
Kai Perry
RolandCare Advisor
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

roocarl
Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: Windows 8 Support

Post by roocarl » Tue Dec 17, 2013 3:46 pm

So does this mean I cannot use my Versa camm Sp300 with Windows 8?? do I need the driver or can I go through VersaWorks instead , neither is working for me ??????

Carl

User avatar
mrtn
Gold Member
Posts: 2212
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:37 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: Windows 8 Support

Post by mrtn » Tue Dec 17, 2013 5:23 pm

You don't need a driver for SP-300 in Windows 8. Even if it does not recognize the device and an unspecified device sits in the Devices folder, you can use VersaWorks to drive it as it sees the printer without it being correctly registered as a printer in Windows 8.
Roland Dealer since 1993
facebook
instagram

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2113
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: Windows 8 Support

Post by Kai Perry » Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:54 am

Hi Carl,

If the machine is the original SP-300 and not the SP-300V, then you will not be able to use the machine with Windows versions higher than Windows XP.

This is because there is no longer any driver support for the original SP-300 and VersaWorks will only support the SP-300V.

If however the machine is the SP-300V, then you should be able to install VersaWorks and then select USB from the list and then SP-300V.
Kai Perry
RolandCare Advisor
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

roocarl
Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: Windows 8 Support

Post by roocarl » Wed Dec 18, 2013 11:53 am

I have a standard SP300 and I was previously using Versa works on an old XP computer , so are you telling me I have to buy another computer install XP and VersaWorks on it to use my printer :-(

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2113
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: Windows 8 Support

Post by Kai Perry » Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:06 pm

As you were previously using VersaWorks with the machine then it would mean that it is a an SP-300V, when you turn the printer on does it confirm this?

The original SP-300 is not supported with VersaWorks, you would have to use ColoRIP or a different RIP.
Kai Perry
RolandCare Advisor
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

roocarl
Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: Windows 8 Support

Post by roocarl » Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:01 pm

Sorry , your right , I was reading the panel at side but the display does say a 300V , so should this definitely work with windows 8 ?
As I am still getting that 1311: source file file not found message ?? even after downloading the fix you suggested .

Best wishes Carl

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2113
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: Windows 8 Support

Post by Kai Perry » Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:12 am

Windows 8 should work with VersaWorks with the SP-300V, for the 1311 error, I would start a fresh, reinstall Windows, update with the latest updates and security updates and then reinstall.
Kai Perry
RolandCare Advisor
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

User avatar
Tom King
Silver Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 11:24 am

Re: Windows 8 Support

Post by Tom King » Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:16 am

Hi Carl.

Error 1311 normally means you are tryign to install the software directly from the zip archive.

Did you download the VersaWorks in a zip file? If so then you need to Right click the zip archive and extract it to a new folder ("Extract All.."), then open the new folder and run the Setup.exe from there.
Tom King
Technical Support Advisor
Roland DG UK Ltd
www.rolanddg.co.uk

roocarl
Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: Windows 8 Support

Post by roocarl » Thu Dec 19, 2013 1:11 pm

Cheers Tom . I did extract it , But now have Re installed windows as well , updated everything. Versaworks seems to load but right at the last few seconds gives an error message -
Profiles (SOLJET PRO3 v2 ECOSOL MAX CMYK) Copy failed

Then -
Profiles (SOLJET PRO3 v2 ECOSOL MAX CMYKLcLm) Copy failed

The desktop icon is there but will not open due to these errors ??

Carl

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest