Getting Started & Software

Post questions, share ideas and techniques relating to the iModela
Chance1234

Getting Started & Software

Post by Chance1234 » Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:58 pm

Hi,

I've just ordered an imodela and have been browsing the forums this morning. I appreciate some of the questions I am asking have been asked before, but as some of the posts are old, I am wondering if there is more up to date information. The prompt to purchase machine came from the following three Jobs I have on.

I am a jeweller by trade, .and I am working with a customer who has sent us a STL file on what they want made and what I want to do is carve that STL file into wax or acrylic just some I have some physical in my hands rather than browsing the file. - the design needs some modding, but I rather have something physical in my hands to suggest changes rather than browsing on a computer. (16mm piece quite fine detail)

The other thing I want to try with the machine is I have a stock piece I make which involves setting rivets, what I want to is make a small jig so I can line up the rivet holes correctly, a sort of 20mm rectangle with holes in it with a two mm recess on the inside so I can place a bit of silver in the recess and line the rivets up with the hole.

Thirdly, I have a customer who has a 1980s watch which they no longer make a strap for (very odd sizing), however I figure I can fit a newer strap to it by making a small connector in acrylic.

With that being said, the first thing I want to do is tackle the STL file. With the imodela as it comes out of the box and with the included software, am I able to just load up the STL file and be away ? or do I need to do something to the file first ?

Secondly, with the JIG i want to make , does the included software allow for something so simple to be made, or do i need another package ?