To-Scale Loft Plotting - Looking to upgrade

Ask any questions you have before you make a decision
Post Reply
AeroPlotterUk
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:32 am

To-Scale Loft Plotting - Looking to upgrade

Post by AeroPlotterUk » Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:44 am

I'm relatively new to the Plotting game, I have inherited the responsibility of maintaining my companies only Plotter for producing large ( up to 2mx4.5m) to scale Lofts onto opaque film for checking of our components and assemblies. our current machine is a Kongsberg DM1840 Modified to use (the now discontinued) Staedtler plotter pens. We have a current stock to support us in pens but its finite and the machine itself will only run on windows 95 :shock: :shock:

I have been searching for some time but it seems this style of plotting is no longer popular?

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2603
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: To-Scale Loft Plotting - Looking to upgrade

Post by Kai Perry » Tue Oct 16, 2018 9:13 am

Plotting machines generally died out about 20 years ago with the advent of vinyl cutters, as they are faster and a lot cheaper than the former machines.

With a vinyl cutter you can add a plotter pen instead of a cutting blade holder, which can they be used to plot the drawing, you can purchase plotter pens for the Roland cutter range from Dorotape.

Have a look at the GR-640. This would suitable for your size of output.
Kai Perry
Application Engineer
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

AeroPlotterUk
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:32 am

Re: To-Scale Loft Plotting - Looking to upgrade

Post by AeroPlotterUk » Tue Oct 16, 2018 9:25 am

thanks for your feedback. so how do these work for line drawing? do they feed the film back and forward to produce each drawn line? or do they basically work like a standard printer and print left to right as it feeds through? for our application we need solid and accurate drawn lines. all our technical drawings are produced on Catia V5, what conversion would be required to run on this machine?

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2603
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: To-Scale Loft Plotting - Looking to upgrade

Post by Kai Perry » Tue Oct 16, 2018 12:40 pm

The output follows the line that is created.

For the output it needs to be vector based and can be run through the print driver or imported into the software as an EPS.

You could also look at a printer instead of a cutter, it really depends on the look of the data and the use.

If you need a sample of the outyput let me know.
Kai Perry
Application Engineer
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest