Third party inks

General chat on substrates, materials and inks
James Wallace

Third party inks

Post by James Wallace » Fri Jul 29, 2011 9:12 pm

I've used Roland Eco-Sol inks since I bought my machine a couple of years ago. I wondered whether it was worth looking at some of the 3rd party inks out on the market.

Dennis Poole
Administrator

Re: Third party inks

Post by Dennis Poole » Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:17 am

James,

I am no expert on inks and obviously I have a certain bias towards Roland as I work here. However from what I have heard many customers try 3rd party inks and move back to Roland Eco-Sol inks very quickly. I have been told of a number of problems with 3rd party inks such as blocking your heads which requires downtime while you clean it out or have to get an engineer out.

I suppose it is similar to buying cheap or refill ink cartridges for your computer printer. They never last as long and you often have problems with them.

As I say I am no expert in inks, but I am sure others will also answer and give you their views and experiences.

Dennis
Dennis Poole
Managing Director
RDR Global Limited

Hugh Ryckman

Post by Hugh Ryckman » Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:31 pm

I heard it like comparing disel and pertrol. Disel costs a little more but goes much further. Don't be fooled by the headline price of the ink. Its about how much is needed to get the same vibrancy of colour and how much is used for output and how much goes into the waste bottle. At the end of the day the printer was designed and optimised to use original ink.

For most applications ink usually cost less than the media its printed on and both are far less than the labour. We all know the additional labor costs when the media doesn't perfrom well and its just the same with the ink.

Steve Chappell

Post by Steve Chappell » Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:50 am