Newbie with MDX-40a and Rotary Axis Unit ZCL-40a problem

Post questions, share ideas and techniques relating to 3D prototyping and milling
stiks
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 8:58 pm

Re: Newbie with MDX-40a and Rotary Axis Unit ZCL-40a proble

Post by stiks » Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:07 am

Hello. I have a problem with my Roland MDX40A and ZCL-40A
This machine for about four years.
There are problems with the Y axis.
By turning the y coordinate shifts. Each time a new value.
Tried calibration correction settings. But the importance of constantly different.
Disassemble axis, check the belt. With it's all good. The machine is grounded.
There was some speculation. The movement along Y is not very smooth. Noise is heard from the carriages. Also advised that the problem can be
a gear wheel axis, so that the axis Y of plays.
Can you help me?
Calibration is exactly 1mm? Why then the desired option for the correction?
Thanks in advance.
I use a translator to communicate.

User avatar
Patrick Thorn
Gold Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Staines
Contact:

Re: Newbie with MDX-40a and Rotary Axis Unit ZCL-40a proble

Post by Patrick Thorn » Tue Dec 02, 2014 3:26 pm

Hello.
The Y axis slides can be lubricated with thin oil.You need to lift the front of the machine about 150mm and put something under the feet, so it cannot fall. Now you add a little thin oil with a cloth. Run the Y + and - a few times and remove excess oil with cloth.

If the Y axis has been moved by hand, then it maybe remotely possible to damage the drive gears. You should get your local engineers to look. If you are in UK you can log a ticket with us, otherwise look at RolandDG for your local provider.
Patrick Thorn
Premier Consultant - 3D Technology
Roland DG UK Ltd

http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

stiks
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 8:58 pm

Re: Newbie with MDX-40a and Rotary Axis Unit ZCL-40a proble

Post by stiks » Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:03 am

Hello. Thanks for the reply.
I greased the rails and pulled the gear. The problem was with poor grounding.
Thx

User avatar
Patrick Thorn
Gold Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Staines
Contact:

Re: Newbie with MDX-40a and Rotary Axis Unit ZCL-40a proble

Post by Patrick Thorn » Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:04 am

Well done, glad it is working now.
Patrick Thorn
Premier Consultant - 3D Technology
Roland DG UK Ltd

http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

stiks
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 8:58 pm

Re: Newbie with MDX-40a and Rotary Axis Unit ZCL-40a proble

Post by stiks » Sun Dec 14, 2014 11:24 am

Hi again. The problem was not solved. During attempts found that displacement occurs during the detection jig. But not always. Tell me, what else could be the reason?
Also 2 times there was an error.
Thank U.
ImageImage

User avatar
Patrick Thorn
Gold Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Staines
Contact:

Re: Newbie with MDX-40a and Rotary Axis Unit ZCL-40a proble

Post by Patrick Thorn » Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:22 am

Sounds like the Z axis has hit the bar and caused Z motor overload.
Are you following the User manual for the ZCL-40A to set up the origins with the original stepped detection pin and bar.
It should do this.

Or is the problem in cutting with SRP Player. It is very important in SRP Player to select the rotary axis option in the settings and make sure you have ZCL-40A selected, NOT ZCL-40 as it is a different unit and size.

If the problem persists you need to contact your local supplier/technical support.
Our UK support is here.
Patrick Thorn
Premier Consultant - 3D Technology
Roland DG UK Ltd

http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

stiks
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 8:58 pm

Re: Newbie with MDX-40a and Rotary Axis Unit ZCL-40a proble

Post by stiks » Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:05 pm

I do not use SRP Player. Only Deskproto and RhinoCam. But the problem is not in the program because the offset is present during manual operation.
Tell me, how often to set up the origins? Before, I did it in front of each cutting for good accuracy. It seems to me that this is not correct. Now reboot the machine before cutting.
Thx

User avatar
Andrew Dudley
Gold Member
Posts: 438
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:04 am
Location: Clevedon - England
Contact:

Re: Newbie with MDX-40a and Rotary Axis Unit ZCL-40a proble

Post by Andrew Dudley » Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:26 pm

Hi,

You need to set the XYZ (and A if necessary) origins before each job, as generally the material size you are using is going to be different.
This is to say, so long as you set the origin positions at the start of the first cutting task, it will remember that position until you change it.
So as long as you are using the same origin in the CAM software (ie middle of the material, or bottom left corner as examples) then you should not get any issues with the movement.

So long as you are using a Roland post processor, you should be OK.
If you are still getting issue, there may be a problem with your machine, so I would do as Patrick suggested above and contact your local Roland office for some support.
Andrew Dudley
Business Manager - 3D & Dental
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
Web: www.rolanddg.co.uk

User avatar
Patrick Thorn
Gold Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Staines
Contact:

Re: Newbie with MDX-40a and Rotary Axis Unit ZCL-40a proble

Post by Patrick Thorn » Tue Dec 23, 2014 3:32 pm

Just another couple of points.

You are using CAM software other than Roland, therefore, we should assume you are in NC Code mode.
In my experience if the origin of XYZ (3 axis) or AXYZ( 4 axis) is set correctly, then they do not need changing, the only time is to reset the Z origin with each tool change to the same position as the tool before.
In NC there are different factors of tool Length (G43 H xx) and tool Diameter (G41/G42) compensation.
Also setting and offsetting different datums with G92 and G54 to G59.
Some CAM softwares post processors use these and I have seen them used incorrectly, hence errors can accumulate from the start of your program to the end. They also assume that users will know what ones the user wants to edit and modify.

We cannot check 3rd party softwares, so to make a simple test, we would suggest the following using SRP Player with a piece of machinable wax of medium chemical wood (model board):

In the MDX VPanel, setup select RML code.

3 axis.
Make a CAD rectangle, depending on your material and tools.
Say 100mm x 35m x 5mm deep.
Take the tool you want, like square 3mm diameter.
Manually move to your fixed material and manually set the spindle on and make a small shallow cut across the material, just deep enough to measure.
Stop and clear swarf chippings.
Measure the width of the groove accurately. This is the effective cutting diameter. IE it maybe 3.08mm in this case.
Make a new square tool in SRP Player 3.08mm diameter
Use this tool to set your datum and machine the part and then measure the part.

4 axis.
As per the instructions in the manual, set it up and run the calibration with the pin and bar.
In Vpanel > Base point > Set Y origin at centre of rotation.
Load a piece of material suitable for making a small cube part, maybe 20 x 20mm.
With SRP Player, perform cutting of the part from top and bottom.
When it is finished to will see if the top half is in line with the bottom half.
If it is slightly offset, then follow chapter 5-1 in the ZCL40A manual.

Everything will work fine.

Then you can use your CAM to make a similar solution test. If it does not work, then you need to contact the CAM supplier to sort it out.

Our NC Manual explains the NC codes for our MDX machines.

Hope this helps you.
Patrick Thorn
Premier Consultant - 3D Technology
Roland DG UK Ltd

http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest