Learning about 3D Printing/Milling

Post questions, share ideas and techniques relating to 3D prototyping and milling
Ed_Max

Learning about 3D Printing/Milling

Post by Ed_Max » Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:56 pm

Dear All,

I hope this is a good place to write this, as I am not ready for a door to door salesman trying to sell me the wrong thing.

I am Ed a retired craftsperson with a lathe and manual mill. Now I have some time, I trying learn about 3d printing and milling. I can make drawings on paper and make parts with my skills. A few months ago I started learning the 123 Design on the other half's iPad, so have some idea I need to draw in 3D. I have a bit of a way to go but hope to buy something before this coming Christmas.

There is so much in the news and it is so confusing. I think I want to make small artistic models that I can make a master and then make a silicone rubber mould to cast many parts from, like the pumpkins I saw on one of these pages. That is unless your machines make silicone parts.

Do I need a printer or a mill. My son plays a Roland piano, so we know your name, but did not know you made these things.

I look forward to anyones help or advice you can spare.

Thank you in anticipation.

Ed

Andrew Dudley
Gold Member

Re: Learning about 3D Printing/Milling

Post by Andrew Dudley » Fri Nov 07, 2014 9:57 am

Hi Ed, Welcome to the forum.

You are absolutly correct, there is a lot of 'hype' out there about 3D printing, and rightly so to some deegree. It has enabled a lot of designers and engineers to prototype their parts or components, and reduce the time it takes from concetp to final product. This time is the major cost reducer in the design stage and also it help keep companies ahead of the game and allow them to react quickly to rapid changes in demand.