Versworks and GX24 not talking sense

Post Reply
The Harleyman
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:50 am

Versworks and GX24 not talking sense

Post by The Harleyman » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:26 pm

Hi all,

having cleared my head of crimbo and new years :roll: , a happy and prosperous one to all btw, I thought I'd have a go at setting up the print and cut on my newly acquired RS-640 through Versaworks and cut on my GX24.. well that's what I thought I'd do.. :shock: The Gx is running Firmware 2.30, I'm running Roland VW 5.2.0 but the GX queue does not see the cut data in VW. I'm running the cutline in AI, and CDR12 as CutContour, and even tried a separate layer called CutContour with the swatch named CutContour applied to the line.

Out of frustration, I went online and hit the VW site button from within VW, and Roland give the firmware there as 2.20, when the latest is 2.30 for the GX24. deciding to try to roll it back, I downloaded the 2.20, but the installer does not see the GX24, even though it is connected by USB. So i'm stumped at the moment.. :?

Anybody got any ideas on this one? as I'd like to continue to use the 2.30 firmware for the GX24, but need to use print and cut via Rolands Versaworks and the RS/GX combo whilst I put the pennies away for a 64inch cutter..

Cheers

PhillyDee
Silver Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:45 pm
Location: South Shields, UK
Contact:

Re: Versworks and GX24 not talking sense

Post by PhillyDee » Fri Jan 05, 2018 9:33 am

Is it also a hairline?
Roland BN-20 (CMYKWh)
Roland Versa UV LEF-20 (CMYK Pr Wh)
HPC Laser - LS6840PRO 60W Laser cutter/engraver
HPC Laser - LS1290PRO 80W Laser cutter/engraver x3
HPC Laser - LS6090PRO 80W Laser cutter/engraver x2
Trotec Speedy 300 120W with JC Vision Camera system and rotary axis.

The Harleyman
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Versworks and GX24 not talking sense

Post by The Harleyman » Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:07 am

Hi PhillyDee,

Thanks for the thought, as far as I remember I set it to hairline, will double check later..

Daft thought, if anybody is able to upload a test square in Ai or Corel, I run cdr12 at the "office", I could then try ripping that in VW and see if that then wakes things up on the cut side.. If it does I could then examine the file and see if I've missed something daft..

Cheers for the thoughts

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2406
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: Versworks and GX24 not talking sense

Post by Kai Perry » Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:16 am

PM your email address to me and i'll send you a test file.
Kai Perry
Application Engineer
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

The Harleyman
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Versworks and GX24 not talking sense

Post by The Harleyman » Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:32 am

Pm on way, thanks

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2406
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: Versworks and GX24 not talking sense

Post by Kai Perry » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:39 am

Did the test file work?
Kai Perry
Application Engineer
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest