Newbie here... Can anyone test a Dr Engrave for me

Need advice on using your Roland Hardware.
Please note we do not give engineering advice in this group
Post Reply
duncanerobinson
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:38 pm

Newbie here... Can anyone test a Dr Engrave for me

Post by duncanerobinson » Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:41 pm

Hello all...

Thanks for looking at this post! I've been given a MDX-15, which I've installed on an old Win Vista laptop, using a usb to serial (Prolific chip) connector.

I've installed Dr Engrave... I've designed an object. I've sent to print.

However when I print the engraving, the Modela doesn't follow the designated tool path, in fact, nothing like the design that I've tried to print.

Would anyone (please!) like to try my engraving file to see if I've done something daft on Dr Engrave?

If it comes out right, then I suspect I have issues with machine / connectivity.

Any advice would be much much appreciated!

Cheers

Duncan

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2922
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: Newbie here... Can anyone test a Dr Engrave for me

Post by Kai Perry » Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:11 am

Dr. Engrave is really basic, so I would suggest that it is more likely a communication issue, are you using a serial crossover cable as well as the serial to usb connector?
Kai Perry
Application Engineer
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

duncanerobinson
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:38 pm

Re: Newbie here... Can anyone test a Dr Engrave for me

Post by duncanerobinson » Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:03 pm

Currently just using the serial cable that came with the toy... Will try a different cable and report back!

duncanerobinson
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:38 pm

Re: Newbie here... Can anyone test a Dr Engrave for me

Post by duncanerobinson » Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:58 pm

Hi Kai,

Yes - cross over serial cable, connected to the Prolific chip USB. All ports set to COM 1. However...!

Simple instruction, say a square, is ok.

Anything more complicated, i.e. a letter "A" a name, say "Anthony", and the machine stops. For "Anthony" the spindle will drop to the bottom left of the A and then mill a direct line to approx. top right of the Y, then bottom of the Y, then back to bottom left of the A...

Any ideas?

Cheers,

Duncan

duncanerobinson
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:38 pm

Re: Newbie here... Can anyone test a Dr Engrave for me

Post by duncanerobinson » Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:59 pm

...using DrEngrave that is.

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2922
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: Newbie here... Can anyone test a Dr Engrave for me

Post by Kai Perry » Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:47 am

Are you using a nose cone? if so it may be that the machine has recognised that you are using one, thus causing the head to not come back up.
Kai Perry
Application Engineer
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

duncanerobinson
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:38 pm

Re: Newbie here... Can anyone test a Dr Engrave for me

Post by duncanerobinson » Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:38 pm

We've tried using a milling bit: 2mm (tip diameter), 6mm (flute length), 4.36mm (shank diameter), 90mm (overall length)... square ended.

User avatar
Kai Perry
Moderator
Posts: 2922
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: Clevedon
Contact:

Re: Newbie here... Can anyone test a Dr Engrave for me

Post by Kai Perry » Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:16 am

Is that with a nosecone or not?
Kai Perry
Application Engineer
Roland DG (UK) Ltd
http://www.rolanddg.co.uk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest