CX-24 cable conundrum

Need advice on using your Roland Hardware.
Please note we do not give engineering advice in this group
GeraldineO

CX-24 cable conundrum

Post by GeraldineO » Mon May 06, 2013 3:32 am

Dear Roland Forum,
After almost 6 months of angst and agonizing over this cutter cable conundrum, I find myself at your forum hoping for a miracle.
I am an exhibition designer and I also create my own art murals in museums and for commission work utilizing vinyl.

I moved with my Roland CX-24 halfway across the world. The movers who packed every else perfectly, failed to remove the Parallel to USB cable from the vinyl cutter. The Parallel end of the cable was damaged in the move. I assumed a new Parallel to USB cable would do the trick but nothing seems to work this far. I had the moving company send the cutter to the local Roland vendors and it checked out fine with 2 of the new cable options I bought. Here is the kicker. It checks out fine connected to a PC. The advice from the local Roland vendor? Go get a PC because they have no clue and cannot give any advice why the same cables do not work on a Mac.

My set up:
First generation 24 inch iMac running on OS 10.4.11
Software: Flexi 7.5 and its corresponding Production Manager (with the security USB key).
Roland CX-24 Camm-1 (with both a parallel and a serial port).

I have tried downloading software for the parallel to USB cables but the spooled data from Flexi 7.5 goes nowhere.
I finally broke down and even bought a Serial to USB cable. A previous post from a member on this forum suggests that I need yet another component. (A cross-over adaptor piece?).
I get an error message on the vinyl cutter when I try to use the Serial to USB cable as it is now.